Norwich University Archives and Special Collections:
Sullivan Museum and History Center:
Tip: Try starting with searches for Women - Education or for Women military cadets or Vermont College.
You can also search for documents created at a certain point in time in the history of women at Norwich, such as when Norwich merged with Vermont College (then a two-year women's college) in 1972 or when women were first admitted to the Corps of Cadets in 1974.
Norwich University (documenting the Military College of Vermont in the later 20th century and 21st century)
Kershaw, Alex, and Gordon R. Sullivan. Citizens & Soldiers: The First 200 Years of Norwich University. Northfield, Vt.: Norwich University Press, 2018.
Norwich University Alumni Association. Reflections from the Hill : The Oral History Project. Dallas, Texas: PCI, 2022.
Norwich University Bicentennial Commemoration Committee, and Norwich University. Archives. 200 Things About Norwich. Norwich, Vt.: Norwich University Press, 2019.
Smith, Peter Plympton. “The Transformation of Norwich University : 1971-1981,” 1983.
Vermont College (and its forerunners: Vermont Junior College, Montpelier Seminary, and Newbury Seminary)
DeCola, Kelly Hunter, and James Harold Eaton. Celebrate Our Past, Join Our Future : Vermont College Sesquicentennial, 1834-1984, a Commemorative Book in Honor of Its One Hundred-Fiftieth Anniversary. [Montpelier, Vt.: Vermont College of Norwich University?], 1984.
Shepard, William A, Friends of the Norwich University Library, and Norwich University. Library. The Hospital That Became a College : Sloan U.S. Army General Hospital, Montpelier, Vermont. Occasional Paper / Norwich University Library, No. 1. Northfield, Vt.: Norwich University Press, 1983.
Martin, Eldon Hubert. Vermont College, a Famous Old School. Nashville: Parthenon Press, 1962.
Davenport, Walter Rice. Montpelier Seminary and Its Students: With Brief Sketches of Newbury Seminary, Springfield Wesleyan Seminary, Bakersfield North Academy and the Celebration of the First Centennial. [Montpelier, Vt.?]: Montpelier Seminary, 1934.
Bennett, Julia. “Captain Alden Partridge and Eliza Morris: an unusual friendship,” 2009.
Brown, Lydia. “Looking back on the representation of LGBTQ+ members, people of color & women: an analysis of The Chameleon Literary Journal, 1961-present,” 2021.
Comer, Katherine E. “What's This About a Few Good Men? : The Trials and Tribulations of Gender Integration at the Military Academies,” 2003.
Donahue, Abi. “Norwich University’s feminist movement,” 2011.
Kelley, Margaret A. “First steps: Norwich University’s first civilian graduates,” 2008.
Van Arman, Emily P. “The progression of women at Norwich University,” 1997.
Archival collections including research compiled by others about coeducation at Norwich:
Gary T. Lord Papers: Includes former university historian research files on women in the Corps and women in residence on Northfield campus
Media Relations and Web Communications Records: Contains research files compiling media coverage related to women at Norwich, ca. 1965-1998
Biographical Files Collection: Search or browse for specific women by name or class year; primarily includes only deceased individuals
Subjects Files Collection: Includes miscellaneous file of information about women on campus