Women at Norwich University: University Records

Announcement of Norwich University - Vermont College merger, 4 January 1972

Norwich University Photograph Collection

• 71 boxes and 20 oversize drawers (144 linear feet)
• Includes extensive photography of athletics, academics, and other student life in both Northfield and Montpelier
• The bulk of the collection is not available online

Selection of photographs available online

Biographical Files Collection

• Includes obituaries and other biographical information compiled by Norwich university staff about Norwich alumni and affiliates. Files are only searchable by name and are primarily only available for deceased individuals. 
• The bulk of the collection is not available online

Event Ephemera Collection

• 2.5 drawers (4.5 linear feet)
• Includes programs and ephemera from events on campus, overlapping with the period after the NU-VC merger
• The bulk of the collection is not available online

Commencement Ephemera Collection

• 2 drawers (2 linear feet)
• Consists specifically of programs from commencement, commissioning, and convocation ceremonies, including during the period following the NU-VC merger
• The bulk of the collection is not available online

Index to NU's student and alumni newspapers

• Try headings starting with "women" to start or look for "Vermont College" or the under names of specific people

Norwich university catalogs, 1968-present (digital selection incomplete)

Vermont Junior College and Vermont College catalogs, 1937-1972 (in the Vermont College Records and not available online)

Guidon (student newspaper), 1968-present (only 1970-1982 available online)

War Whoop (NU student yearbook), 1972-present and Promethean (VC student yearbook), 1972-1993 (not available online)

Chameleon (student literary journal), 1968-present (digital selection incomplete)

Norwich University Record (alumni magazine), 1968-present (not available online)

Press releases, 1968-2007 (in the Media Relations Records and including online index for period from 1959-1975)

Loring Edward Hart Records

• 20 boxes (20 linear feet)
• Consists of correspondence and other records of Norwich's dean, 1968-1972, and president, 1972-1982, including the NU-VC merger and admission of women to the Corps of Cadets
• The collection is not available online

W. Russell Todd Records

• 41 boxes (42 linear feet)
• Documents the activities of Norwich's president, 1982-1992, including records related to the status of women on campus
• The collection is not available online

Per our Records Restriction Policy, records of Richard W. Schneider, Norwich's president from 1992-2020, are closed to the public for twenty five years from end of his term in office.

Vermont College Records

• 7 boxes and cabinet (9 linear feet)
• Collection documents programs on the Vermont College campus in Montpelier from 1910-2001, including the Vermont College board of trustees in the period leading up to the merger with Norwich
• The bulk of the collection is not available online

Board of Trustees Records

• 29 Boxes (29 linear feet)
• Includes meeting minutes of the Norwich University Board of Trustees at the time of the merger with Vermont College and beyond
• The collection is not available online

Records from the Office of the Commandant

• 8 boxes (8 linear feet)
• Contains student handbooks (for both cadets and civilian students) as well as other materials related to student life and military training
• The bulk of the collection is not available online

Media Relations and Web Communications Records

• 26 boxes (26 linear feet)
• Consists of press releases and other materials compiled by public relations employees, including several files focused on women in Corps
• The bulk of the collection is not available online