Skip to Main Content

World War I Resources in the Norwich Archives: University Records

Overview

The focus of these selections are materials reflecting Norwich University's operations during the war and not the broader or more individual contributions of specific students, alumni, faculty or staff.

Collections that are not available online are usually described in a linked guide or "finding aid" but otherwise require researchers to visit or contact the Norwich Archives to access.

University Records

Biographical Files Collection:

Board of Trustees Records:

  • 29 Boxes (29 linear feet)
  • Contains minutes of the Norwich University Board of Trustees during the World War I and records related to Norwich's centennial in 1919
  • The collection is not available online

Herbert Rufus Roberts Papers:

  • 3 boxes (3 linear feet)
  • Includes the Norwich dean and acting president's correspondence and records related to students and academic matters from World War I 
  • The collection is not available online

John Martin Thomas Records:

  • 3 boxes (3 linear feet)
  • Contains correspondence related to the death and memory of World War I casualty Moses Taylor (Class of 1920)
  • The collection is not available online

Event Ephemera Collection:

  • 2.5 drawers (4.5 linear feet)
  • Has a limited selection of programs and other ephemera from events at Norwich during World War I
  • The collection is not available online

Records from the Office of the Commandant:

  • 8 boxes (8 linear feet)
  • Includes orders, cadet handbooks, rules and regulations, and records relating to military camps for 1917-1919
  • The bulk of the collection is not available online

Photographs

Norwich University Photograph Collection

  • 71 boxes and 20 oversize drawers (144 linear feet)
  • Includes images of students, alumni, athletics, buildings, and military training during World War I
  • The bulk of the collection is not available online

"Tank in the World War" Collection:

  • 2 boxes (.75 linear feet)
  • 200 lantern slides assembled by Arthur H. Dalzell and later used in ROTC classes at Norwich as an illustrated lecture, "The Tank in the World War," based off Dalzell's experience in the tank service in World War I
  • The collection is not available online

U.S. and Allied War Exposition Photographs:

  • 1 box (.25 linear feet)
  • Photographs documenting the Allied War Exposition, a traveling exhibit sponsored by the U.S. Government Committee on Public Information during World War I
  • The collection is available online

Selection of photographs available online

University Publications

Reveille (student magazine), 1917-1920

Norwich University Record (alumni newspaper), 1917-1919 

Presidents' annual reports, 1917-1919 (digital selection is incomplete)

University catalogs, 1914-1919 (not available online)

War Whoop (student yearbook), 1914-1919

Index to NU's student and alumni newspapers

  • Check under "World War One" to find articles about Norwich University students, alumni, and operations during World War I

Fiction about World War I serialized in the Reveille: