Skip to Main Content

World War I Resources in the Norwich Archives: General Resources

Historical Collections at Norwich University

Norwich University Archives and Special Collections:

Sullivan Museum and History Center:

  • Museum catalog: Search the online catalog to the museum's collections

 

Tip: Try starting with searches for World War, 1914-1918 or for a specific person or event.

You can also search for documents created in a certain date range, such as between 1917 and 1918.

Norwich University Histories and World War I

Kershaw, Alex, and Gordon R. Sullivan. Citizens & Soldiers: The First 200 Years of Norwich University. Northfield, Vt.: Norwich University Press, 2018.

Norwich University Bicentennial Commemoration Committee, and Norwich University. Archives. 200 Things About Norwich. Norwich, Vt.: Norwich University Press, 2019.

Guinn, Robert Darius, and William Arba Ellis. The History of Norwich University, 1912-1965. Burlington, Vt.: George Little Press, 1966.

Bisson, Wilfred M. “A New Look at the Military Relationship between Norwich University and the State of Vermont: 1819-1916,” 1999.

Sheldon, Harold P. Vermont in the World War, 1917-1919. Edited by John T Cushing and Arthur Fairbanks Stone. Burlington: Printed by Free Press Print, 1928.

  • Includes chapter devoted to Norwich University students, alumni, and operations during World War I

Norwich University. Centennial Committee. Norwich University : A Record of the Celebration of the One Hundredth Anniversary of Its Founding. Northfield Vt.: Norwich University, 1920.

Previous Student Scholarship

Anthony, Blair. “Colonel Frank Tompkins: a life-long love for Norwich University, 1910-1954,” 2008.

Balich, Chris. “The road to Mexico: the involvement of Norwich University in the Mexican border crisis of 1916,” 2008.

Bisson, Wilfred M. “A new look at the relationship between Norwich University and the state of Vermont, 1819-1916,” 1999.

Colburn, Patrick with Adam Lazar and Patrick King. “Norwich University centennial celebration,” 2004.

Miranda, Eugene G. “The influence of Norwich on the ROTC legislation of 1916,” 2006.

Swan, Matthew. “The few, the proud: Norwich Marines during World War I, 1917-1919,” 2007.

Torres, Michael A. “Cavalry at Norwich University and the arrival of R.O.T.C., 1906-1943,” 1994.

Researching Alumni Contributions

Biographical information compiled by others about Norwich affiliates in World War I may also be found in the Norwich University Archives.

Suggested resources to start: