World War I Resources in the Norwich Archives: Personal and Family Collections

duVal Allen Papers:

• 2 boxes (1.5 linear feet)
• Papers from Allen's experiences with the ambulance service of both the French and American armies, 1917-1919, and scrapbook documenting his experiences as a Norwich University student in the Class of 1919
• Papers, photographs, and postcards from the collection are available online

Perley Dustin Baker Papers:

• 3 boxes (3 linear feet)
• Includes testimonial, photographs, and scrapbook related to Perley Dustin Baker's service in the U.S. Army's gas division, 1918-1919, and experiences as a Norwich University student in the Class of 1920
• The collection is not available online

Chester Connor Bentley Scrapbook:

• 1 box (2 linear feet)
• Scrapbook documenting Chester Connor Bentley as a student at Norwich University, 1913-1920,including World War I service with the 1st Army Corps, American Expeditionary Forces,and a hazing incident resulting in suspension of the sophomore class in 1916
• Questionnaire about Bentley's service in World War I is available online

Rollin Asher Burditt Papers:

• 4 folders
• Consists of diaries, photographs, military training notebooks, and other records from Burditt's service as an aerial observer, 1917-1919
• The collection is not available online

Ernest Nason Harmon Records and Harmon Family Papers:

• 21 boxes (21 linear feet)
• Content related to Harmon's military service with the 2nd Cavalry Regiment in World War I is limited to photographs, commissions and diplomas, 1917-1920, and unpublished memoirs (both by Gen Harmon and his wife, Leona Harmon)
• The collection is not available online

Irving Abbot Holder Photographs:

• 2 files
• A Norwich University student's photography of people and events in Northfield, 1918-1920, including Armistice Day ceremonies at the end of the war
• The collection is not available online

Ernest Willard Gibson Papers:

• 1 box (1 linear foot)
• Photograph album documenting the dedication of the American war memorials in Europe in 1937, including several ceremonies attended by Gibson in his capacity as a U.S. senator
• The collection is not available online

Robert C. Knowlton Scrapbook:

• 1 volume
• Includes photographs from Knowlton's military service with the 2nd Cavalry Regiment in World War I
• World War I photographs from the collection are available online

Gustaf A. Nelson Papers:

• 2 boxes (1.5 linear feet)
• Consists of scrapbook, photographs, correspondence, and papers relating to Gus Nelson's World War I service with the 102nd Machine Gun Battalion of the 26th Infantry Division ("Yankee Division")
• World War I photographs and questionnaire about military service are available online

Harry Bennett Salman Papers:

• 1 box (1 linear foot)
• Includes papers and ephemera from experiences associated with the Students Army Training Corps and the Near East Relief Expedition in Turkey and Armenia
• The bulk of the collection is not available online

Dwight Frank Smith Papers:

• 1 box (1 linear foot)
• Contains content related to Smith's service in the U.S. Marine Corps during World War I, including diaries, citation for the Distinguished Service Cross awarded for actions at Bois-de-Belleau, France, in 1918, and pocket French-English dictionaries used by Smith during the war,
• Questionnaire about Smith’s service in World War I is available online

Charles L. Whipple Scrapbook:

• 2 boxes (1.25 linear feet)
• Includes papers and publications from service with the U.S. Signal Corps, 1917-1918
• Questionnaire about Whipple’s service in World War I is available online

Additional scrapbooks or "memory books" documenting student life at Norwich University during World War I:

• Richard M. Parker (Class of 1917)
• Walter Andrew Upham (Class of 1917)
• Edward Hazen Walton (Class of 1917)
• Harold Burleigh Wendell (Class of 1917)
• Frank A. Smith (Class of 1918)
• Charles P. Dole (Class of 1919)
• Clarence A. Hamlin (Class of 1919)
• Winthrop W. Locke (Class of 1920)
• Clarence L. Vitty (Class of 1920)
• Erving Newcomb Buffum (Class of 1921)
• Benjamin C. Newton (Class of 1921)
• C. Stanley Slack (Class of 1921)
• Richards G. Vedeler (Class of 1921)
• Gerrit Carl Zwart (Class of 1921)
• Kenneth G. Allen (Class of 1922)
• Jason Tolles Bickford (Class of 1922)
• Lindsay L. Brown (Class of 1922)
• Nelson F. Leclair (Class of 1922)
• John A. Lynch (Class of 1922)
• Charles Edward Maher (Class of 1922)
• Harry E. O'Neill (Class of 1922)
• Lester E. Richwagen (Class of 1922)
• Ralph P. Smith (Class of 1922)
• Isaac Davis White (Class of 1922)
• John Wyman Worthington (Class of 1922)

Diary from the scrapbook of Ralph P. Smith, 16 September - 15 October:

Porter Hartwell Adams Papers:

• 3 boxes (3 linear feet)
• Includes diaries and papers from Adams' service with the U.S. Navy, 1918-1919
• The collection is not available online

Costas L. Caraganis Papers:

• 3 boxes (3 linear feet)
• Contains materials related to Gen Caraganis' interest in World War I, including AEF general orders, training bulletins, and lecture notes on gas defense and coordination originally compiled by Captain C. D. Morse, U.S. Army
• The collection is not available online

Colvocoresses and Haddock Family Papers:

• 2 boxes (2 linear feet)
• Papers of Charles Colvocoresses Haddock within the collection include records from military service and activities as an aviator and inventor, 1917-1920
• World War I materials in the collection are not available online

Timothy Michael Donahue Papers:

• 7 files
• Consists of primarily of letters sent by Timothy Michael Donahue to his brother John Clarke Donahue during military service, 1916-1918
• Correspondence and photographs in the collection are available online

Henry Ward Orser Records:

• 2 boxes (2 linear feet)
• Personal correspondence related to the death of son Ward Bailey Orser from influenza in 1918 has been incorporated in what is otherwise a collection of official records from Norwich's treasurer, 1915-1933
• Orser family letters written during the influenza epidemic are available online

Ira Louis Reeves Papers:

• 3 boxes (2.5 linear feet)
• Scrapbooks, correspondence, and other personal papers documenting Reeves' military service in World War I and his terms as president of Norwich University, 1915-1917, and of the American Expeditionary Forces University in Beaune, France, in 1919
• World War I materials in the collection are not available online

Alice Barr Tompkins Memoirs:

• 2 volumes
• Unpublished memoir written by Alice Barr Tompkins, the wife of Colonel Frank Tompkins, including the family's experiences and her husband's military service during the Mexican Expedition (1916) World War I.
• The collection is not available online

Frank Tompkins Papers:

• 2 boxes (2 linear feet)
• Primarily consists of papers and correspondence related to Frank Tompkins and the Mexican Expedition, 1916
• The collection is not available online

Henry Weismann Papers:

• 1 box and 2 volumes
• Contains Weismann’s speeches from 1913-1917 and newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and published materials documenting Weismann's activities, 1915-1918
• The collection is not available online

Frederick Weiss Papers:

• 1 box (.5 linear feet)
• Diary, photographs, and other papers related to Frederick Weiss' service as a pharmacist in the U.S. Army in France, 1918-1919
• The collection is not available online