Example Topic and Keywords
Example Topic: I need to find articles on juvenile crime prevention.
Based on your topic, you'll need to develop a search strategy and some keywords. Our Develop a Research Strategy guide walks you through this process. In the examples below, we'll use some example keywords:
Example Keywords:
- juvenile
- adolescent
- youth
- teen
- crime
- prevention
About Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is an excellent source for peer-reviewed journals in the criminal justice field. It includes both abstracts and full-text articles.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource includes full text for more than 200 magazines and journals, as well full-text books & monographs.
Conducting a Search in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
The screenshot examples below search for articles about preventing juvenile crime.
- You can use quotes to search for words together as a phrase (i.e. "revolutionary war"), and use another field to break up my keywords into concepts.
- Click the blue search button to find articles.
Reviewing Search Results in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This search found 6704 results for journal articles.
- Select Peer Reviewed from the options below the search bar to show just scholarly journal articles in your results.
- Results are sorted by relevance with the most relevant articles appearing at the top of the list. You can change this using the sort drop-down.
- Options to access the full text will appear as "Access now" or as "Access Options". If the full text is not available in the database, the access option available will appear as "Check for full text", which you can use to find the item in another database or request it through interlibrary loan.
About ProQuest Criminal Justice
The ProQuest Criminal Justice database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text. Topics covered include criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full text. Topics covered include criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Conducting a Search in ProQuest Criminal Justice
The screenshot examples below show a search for articles about preventing juvenile crime.
- I put my keywords into different search boxes to make the search simple.
- I checked the box next to Peer reviewed to show only scholarly journal articles in my search results.
- Click the Search button once you're done putting in your keywords.
Reviewing Search Results in ProQuest Criminal Justice
This search found 12,399 results for journal articles.
- Results are sorted by relevance with the most relevant articles appearing at the top of the list.
- You can select Scholarly Journals under Source Type to show only journal articles from scholarly journals in your search results.
- To access any of the articles you've found, click on either the Full text (for HTML) or Full text - PDF link (one or the other, or both may be available).
- If the full text is not available, click on the Check for Full Text button. This will allow you to search in other databases or request it through Interlibrary Loan.
