Skip to main content
Norwich University Kreitzberg Library

Oxford Bibliographies Online

This guide will help you navigate and maximize Oxford Bibliographies Online.

Using the bibliographies

Navigate an individual topic's bibliography using the "In This Article" list on the left as needed or use the search box on the left to search within the bibliography/article.

Oxford Bibliographies article structure

Bibliography citations include books, journals and articles, web resources, multimedia, and primary source documents. You will thus run into a variety of types of resources while combing through a bibliography/article. Each bibliography includes a curated selection of citations providing a selective list of the best and most useful resources available. The corresponding annotations provide guidance on how the resource will aid your research.

Is the resource an individual article?

Click the + next to Find this resource and click the Check for Full Text button. This will look for it in the Norwich library's databases.

Check for Full Text button in Oxford Bibliography citation

If Norwich has access, you will see a View Full Text link on the resulting page. Click this link to view the full text of the article or, in some cases, a publication information page for the journal.

View Full Text link in search results

If no full text is available, click the Request Item through Interlibrary Loan button to request article delivery through our Interlibrary Loan service.

 

Watch for web links!

Some bibliographies feature Online Reference Resources sections or have citations for web resources. In these cases look for direct web links in the citation. You may also find primary sources with links provided.

Web link

Is the resource a book, book chapter, encyclopedia or periodical?

Click the + next to Find this resource and select either WorldCat or Google Books. WorldCat will help you locate it in a library (possibly at Norwich) and Google Books will provide varying levels of access depending on the title. 

WorldCat and Google Books links in Oxford Bibliography citation

Clicking WorldCat will take you directly to the WorldCat record for the item. Click Search the catalog at Norwich University Library to see if Norwich owns the item either in print or electronically.

Worldcat search results

 

This will take you to the Norwich's own WorldCat catalog. Look for items that say Norwich University Kreitzberg Library in the results list. Click on the title for more details. The Find Books guide and Find and Use Ebooks guide provide further help with getting your hands on specific items.

Catalog search results for a book owned by Norwich

 

If the item is not available at Norwich, you may Request Materials from Other Libraries.

Need Help?

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Contact Us

phone802.485.2179 - Research Help
phone802.485.2176 - Service Desk