Military History: Searching in Databases

JSTOR provides many full-text scholarly articles in different fields but does not provide access to the most current years; instead, coverage usually ends about 3-5 years ago, depending on the journal.

The screenshot examples below show a search for only articles about the War of 1812 and naval warfare.

• I used quotes to search for words together as a phrase (i.e. "War of 1812" and "naval warfare").
• I put my keywords into different search boxes to make the search simpler.
• I checked the box next to Articles under Item Type to show just articles in my search results.
• Click the Submit Advanced Search button to start searching for articles.

This search found 167 articles related to my keywords.

• Results are automatically sorted by relevance, so the most relevant articles are displayed first in the list of results.
• To read an article, click on the Download PDF button and accept JSTOR's terms.

America: History and Life Full Text is a database that offers historical scholarly journals, magazines, books and more covering the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

The screenshot examples below search for peer-reviewed articles about Revolutionary War Letters.

• I used quotes to search for words together as a phrase (i.e. "revolutionary war"), and used another field to break up my keywords into concepts.
• I clicked the blue search button to find articles.

This search found 171 articles.

• Select Peer Reviewed from the options below the search bar to show just scholarly journal articles in your results.
• Results are sorted by relevance with the most relevant articles appearing at the top of the list. You can change this using the sort drop-down.
• Options to access the full text will appear as "Access now" or as "Access Options". If the full text is not available in the database, the access option available will appear as "Check for full text", which you can use to find the item in another database or request it through interlibrary loan.