Example Topic and Keywords
Topic: What is the role of liberalism in foreign policy?
Based on your topic, you'll need to develop a search strategy and some keywords. Our Develop a Research Strategy guide walks you through this process. In the examples below, we'll use some example keywords:
- "foreign policy"
- liberalism
- theory
- "international relations"
- politics
- doctrine
About JSTOR
JSTOR provides many full-text scholarly articles spanning a wide range of fields and going as far back as the 1800s. Coverage for most journals ends 3-5 years ago.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from around the world and scholarly journal articles spanning a wide range of fields and going as far back as the 1800s. Coverage for most journals in this database ends 3-5 years ago.
Conducting a Search in JSTOR
The screenshot examples below show a search for articles related to liberalism and foreign policy.
- I used quotes to search for words together as a phrase (i.e. "foreign policy").
- I put my keywords into different search boxes to make the search simpler.
- I checked the box next to Articles under Item Type to show just articles in my search results.
- Click the Submit Advanced Search button to start searching for articles.
Reviewing Search Results in JSTOR
This search found 14,493 articles related to my keywords.
- Results are automatically sorted by relevance, so the most relevant articles are displayed first in the list of results.
- To read an article, click on the Download PDF button and accept JSTOR's terms.
About Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier has the most comprehensive collection of full-text journal articles of any databases available through the library.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly and professional journals, magazines, and newspapers on a wide range of subjects, many full text.
Conducting a Search in Academic Search Premier
he screenshot examples below search for peer-reviewed articles about international policy and security.
- I used quotes to search for words together as a phrase (i.e. "international policy"), and used another field to break up my keywords into concepts.
- I clicked the blue search button to find articles.
Reviewing Search Results in Academic Search Premier
This search found 313 articles.
- Select Peer Reviewed from the options below the search bar to show just scholarly journal articles in your results.
- Results are sorted by relevance with the most relevant articles appearing at the top of the list. You can change this using the sort drop-down.
- Options to access the full text will appear as "Access now" or as "Access Options". If the full text is not available in the database, the access option available will appear as "Check for full text", which you can use to find the item in another database or request it through interlibrary loan.
