Finding Collections Elsewhere
Archival research on Norwich University people can lead researchers to ask if unique collections elsewhere will document additional aspects of their lives or service.
View this presentation for tips about finding archival collections in other repositories
Vermont in World War II
Many resources in Archives and Special Collections provide local perspectives on events and conditions during the Second World War. Researchers exploring these viewpoints may also benefit from consulting collections in other local repositories.
- Newspapers at the Vermont State Archives: The Vermont State Archives and Records Administration's (VSARA) is the repository of record for Vermont town newspapers
Vermont History Center (Vermont Historical Society):
- Digital Vermont: Includes wartime propaganda posters and drawings of Vermont artist, Stephen J. Belaski, during his service with the U.S. Army in World War II
- Leahy Library: Includes manuscript collections related to the military service of Vermonters
University of Vermont Libraries:
- Jack and Shirley Silver Special Collections Library: Includes manuscript collections related to the military service of Vermonters
Northfield (VT) Historical Society:
- Online Collections: Select documents, including the Historical Society's newsletter, freely available online
Searching for Other Archives
Suggested resources for locating archival collections associated with Norwich University alumni and affiliates at other archival repositories:
- ArchiveGrid: Over 7 million records describing archival materials in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies across the world.
- SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context: Used to locate archival resources around the world and discover biographical and historical information about the people, families, and organizations who created or compiled them.