Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request access to paywalled articles unavailable through our electronic subscriptions, as well as articles and book chapters only available in our print collection.
You can access your account by clicking on the links below. If prompted, sign in with your NU network login.
Article requests can be initiated via DOI search, WorldCat Discovery, Google Scholar, library databases, or by manual entry in your ILL account. Select a heading below for details on each of these methods.
A DOI, or Digital Object Identifier, is a string of numbers and letters used to permanently identify an article or document on the web, usually including the number 10 followed by a period. This information can often be found near the article citation on publishers' websites. If you have an article DOI, you can use this identifier to quickly check for full-text access or initiate your ILL request.
Copy the string beginning with 10. and everything to the right.
Example:
Append DOI to the "info:doi/" in the box below and click the Search button.
Example: info:doi/10.1108/02640470610689151
Click Search, then Request through Interlibrary Loan button on the resulting search results page, if applicable.
When searching WorldCat Discovery with the scope set to "Libraries Worldwide," you can find records for articles not directly accessible through the library's subscriptions. To request these materials, click the red "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button on the item detail page.
Enter an article title in the search box below to search Libraries Worldwide.
Example:
Go to guides.norwich.edu/scholar to include NU library links in search results, or use the search box below (see our Google Scholar guide for more details).
When you find an article you'd like to request and no full-text links are available, click the double right pointing angle (») to expose the "Resources @ Norwich" link.
Example:
On the resulting search results page, click the Request through Interlibrary Loan button to initiate your request.
Records in most library databases display a "Check for full text" button for articles when no full text version is provided.
The "Check for full text" button will send you to a search results page displaying links to other databases where a full text version is a available. If none is found, select the Request through Interlibrary Loan button.
Access the ILL request form directly.
From your Requests page, you can also click the Create Request button to begin a new article request by manual entry.
On the Article Request form, fill in any relevant citation details along with notes to help our ILL staff identify the item you need.
Click the Submit Request button, and you're done! When the article has been received, you'll receive an email notification that includes a link and password you'll need to access the item in your ILL account.
When your requested article has been received by the library, you'll get a notification including links to retrieve the article directly from the Article Exchange server. The notification also includes a required case-sensitive password (highlighted below).
The access link in the email will lead to an Article Exchange page, where you may enter the password you received in the notification.
Articles will stay on the Article Exchange server for 30 days or up to five views (whichever comes first).
Access limits are visible on the Requested tab in Your Library Account.
To avoid loss of access due to link expiration or viewing limits, be sure to save a PDF copy to your preferred storage location.
Email Us! (library@norwich.edu)