Skip to main content
norwich kl logo

Resources for Alumni: Digital Collections

Information resources available to NU alumni and community members.

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists; and share their lists with others. Users can also explore digital exhibitions curated by the DPLA’s content partners and staff.

Europeana

Europeana lets you explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Collections include books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings.

Voice of the Shuttle

Voice of the Shuttle is a database of literature, humanities, and cultural studies resources. Collections include primary and secondary sources with links to course materials, author websites, literature in English and other languages, and ebooks. Sponsored by the English Department at UC Santa Barbara.

Library of Congress

Library of Congress digital collections include:

New York Public Library

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Making of America

Making of America

Making of America is a digital collection of primary documents related to American history. It is a collaborative endeavor among libraries, principally Cornell University Library and the University of Michigan Library.

U.S. National Archives

In addition to its role in collecting and preserving the records of the Federal government, the National Archives curates many online exhibits of the nation's most important historical documents, including America's Historical Documents, a collection of major documents in U.S. history; and Digital Vaults, an interactive interface for exploration and discovery.

The National Security Archive

George Washington University's National Security Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.

Fold 3: Original Military Records

Fold 3 searches American military records, covering conflicts from the Revolutionary War through the present, and includes photographs and digitized records.