Scanned copies of millions of books from libraries around the world. Many are openly and fully available online, while others have a preview option. Google will connect you to libraries and bookstores where the print versions are available. Some features require free account registration with Google.
A large-scale preservation project that includes many books that are in the public domain (published before 1922) which can be viewed full-text. You can limit your search results to these titles by selecting "Full View Only" in the search interface.
A project of the nonprofit Internet Archive, the site seeks to include a web page database for every book ever published. It holds 23 million catalog records of books, in addition to the full texts of about 1,600,000 public domain books, which are fully readable and downloadable.
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books from the public domain. Full-text downloads are available in a variety of formats for computers and mobile devices.
E-Print Network offers resources from over 35,000 databases worldwide. Topics include basic and applied sciences, physics, chemistry, biology, materials science, nuclear sciences, engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies.
PLOS publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals. The journals vary in their selectivity and contain differing amounts of commentary articles from opinion leaders in a variety of scientific disciplines.
National Library of Medicine’s premier database of scholarly citations covering nearly 4,500 journals published in the U.S. and more than 70 other countries. Includes entire MEDLINE via EBSCO plus additional life sciences article citations. Use Check for Full Text button to link to Norwich licensed resources.
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
Provided by the Internet Archive library, hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. Many of these lectures are available for download.