While many archival materials are only accessible in-person or via databases though the university, there are also virtual repositories and websites that provide full or partial access to materials at no cost and/or direct you to additional available resources. The following resources are a small fraction of resources available, and you are encouraged to do your own searching or ask an archivist.
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
Hint: The Internet Archive is a great place to find NU pages that are no longer active including the Guidon.
Vermont Historical Society preserves centuries of Vermont-related collections, including the document that admitted Vermont to the Union (signed by Thomas Jefferson), a Revolutionary War atlas of Lake Champlain and even the shoe buckles worn by Ethan Allen!
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.
The Smithsonian archival collections include technical drawings, photographs, letters, field notebooks, diaries and journals, sketches and sketchbooks, scrapbooks, manuscripts, rare printed materials, motion picture film, video and sound recordings, and much more. Many of the archival units are repositories within the Smithsonian's museums, libraries, and other larger divisions, and two are independent collecting units. Nearly all have online collections and resources where visitors will find more detail about the scope of collections, collection guides and finding aids, and digitized content.
Google News Archive is an extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Some of the news archives date back to 18th century.
