📍 Guide to Finding Archival Resources

Navigate to the NU Archives website. At the top right of the page, use the search bar to type in a word or term to use. To maximize your results, put in a single word or two-word term such as Cavalry or Civil War.

Once you have all the results, it is easy to narrow them down using the filters on the left of the page:

• Finding Aids will show you all the collections that we have that contain the word or term for which you searched. A finding aid will give a brief description of a collection, and some aids contain content listings that give provide an inventory of the what the collection contains.
• Photographs & Postcards will show results for any digitized images that have been tagged with th search term.
• Newspapers, Magazines & Publications will guide you to matches in the index of NU newspapers including the Guidon or Norwich University News.

Even if you are very familiar with archival collections, using search terms, and/or filtering using subject fields, it is always recommended to begin with a simple or general search as not all collections and items are tagged consistently. However, if there are more results than manageable, additional filtering options can help.

Depending on the search results, options will appear to show all materials tagged with select terms including the creator of the material, the format of the material (or its digital surrogate), or subject name, topic or place. The number next the term indicates how many items are tagged with that term.

Note: This does not mean that every item in the collections is tagged with every possible term, and while filtering using terms such as "United States. Army - Cavalry (2)" can help narrow a search, it can also leave out many potentially useful results that have not been tagged with that vocabulary or are in a collection that has not been digitized.